I REMEMBER

I remember saying goodbye to friends and family as I drove to airport to board the small white jet with only the clothes on my back and a small bag. I remember not sleeping the first 72 hours. I remember the many ,many push ups, sit ups, jumping jacks, running and swimming I endured. The cattle shoot of never ending vaccines that made my arms feel like spaghetti and throb with pain. The many achievements I accomplished and being labeled as a leader and a stand out in my time in boot camp trying to become the best of the best in my goal to become a Navy Seal. Ultimately being selected for SEAL training I deciding to go another route in my career in the medical aspect of the service.

I remember traveling by air, land and sea through deserts, jungles and high waves to get to my destination or designated target.

I remember the hot dry days, the sweltering humidity, and the cold nights. The sand storms that whipped up out of nowhere and the brown outs that were generated by the powerful rotors of the helicopters.

I remember the raids and explosions, the bullet splash around me, the constant stress and mental alertness that drained everything out of me.

I remember things I wish not to remember and the PTSD I came home with and dealt with for some time after trying to readjust

I remember the humming of rotors and aircraft that took off and landed causing me to use earplugs. I remember the feel of a wet suit before entering the deep dark ocean water for training exercises.

I remember the sleepless nights as I lay awake due to either the heat, the fear of camel spiders and snakes or sand fleas or the uncomfortable racks and cots I had to sleep in every night.

I remember the feel of the sand as it hits my skin like shards of glass, the ocean breeze and the transition to a calming feeling aboard the carrier away from the “sandbox”

I remember my brothers and the life long bond we have, the way we looked out for each other and the things we all went through together. Having friends of all kinds from all over the United States and knowing that you will always share something special with them.

I remember drinking beer on the beach in Spain and the locals generous hospitality, four wheeling through the streets with my shipmates and shopping at expensive shops. I remember the amazing pizza I tasted in Cicili and pictures I took of the beautiful scenery.

I remember 3am watch on the journey home across the Bermuda triangle and the erie feeling I got as I swear the water looked black and the superstition of stories of ships not making it home crossed my mind.

I remember hugging loved ones and friends after arriving back home on American soil, the huge steak I ate at outback as my first meal home. It was good to be home!

Leave a comment